What guitar should I buy (most common question)

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by beowulf, Jul 26, 2007.

1. beowulf

beowulf New Member

Sorry for repeating the most common question on the forum.

I am an absolute beginner, no experience whatsoever...I have played some other instruments but I want to learn the guitar (first string instrument). I am in Pune/Mumbai. I did look around the forum for other comments and tel nos of places in Mumbai. I just called a few places. Heres the results :

I guess most ppl recommend Hobner 265F. Most ppl end up buying a GiVson. Here are a couple of other brands I came across with cost :

1. Furtados - 22013163
    =================
    Hobner 120 - 2625/-
    Hobner 125 - 2675/-
    Hobner 265 - 2975/-
    Other options:
    Granada - 2775
    all above with strings, cover etc

2. Bhargava's - 26411842
    ===================
    GiVson - 2200/-
    GBA (?) - 2750/-
    Yamaha F210 - 4850/-
    all with cover, strings etc

3. Sardar Flute - Dadar - 24131508
    ====================
    Granada - 3250/-
    Hobner 120,145 - 2850/-
    Hobner 265 - 3000/-
    the hobner has a belt along with other things
    Suzuki - dont know details

4. Albertos - 28881523
    ==================
    Jim (??) - 2500/-
    Hobner 265 - 3500/-

5. SB Music - 67021256
    =================
    Granada - 2700/-
    Pluto - ?
    Hobner - ?
    This guy specifically recommended Granada and Pluto. He said the wood was better and Hobner was made of ply.

===============
    ADDED LATER
    ===============
    6. Peter Pereira (really sorry if I spelled the last name wrong)
    Thane

7. Music Distriution Co. - 23851519/20

Havent called the two places above, if there are any changes to the contact details or prices, please post the most updated info.

Here are my questions :
    ==================
    1. What guitar should I buy. My budget is 3k - 4k