Resurrecting Fallow Guitars: Accessing All Keys Using Open Strings.

Discussion in 'English Guitar Tabs - Submit or Request' started by MuktiMusic, Apr 24, 2005.

1. MuktiMusic

MuktiMusic New Member

Resurrecting Fallow Guitars: Accessing All Keys Using Open Strings.

As an acoustic guitarist I love to use open strings when I can. Standard tuning is a rich tuning but might not offer me the open strings, pedal tones, or ease when desiring to play in a certain key, especially a flat 'b' key [and especially if I wanted to play slide]. Though the capo is a quick shortcut for me personally, if I choose to use a capo, I like to keep it down the neck, somewhere between the 1st and 4th fret. I might turn to another of my tuning configurations below as well, which are making using of multiple guitars in different ways: de-tuned, high strung, mid strung, low strung, baritone. This is also useful to me as a slide player, as playing with a capo on is not my first choice.

Perhaps you have a few guitars in your collection and one or two are not being used so much. Converting them opens up whole new emotional contents to explore. Enlisted into the service of a high strung or low strung tuning, or D-standard, etc., a guitar which has laid fallow can really inspire! And, when working in flat keys, they can provide new angles for expression.