New Guitar - What to buy?

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by tryst, Feb 22, 2006.

1. tryst

tryst New Member

Hi,

I am planning to buy a new guitar and am an absolute beginner.I presume acoustic ones are better suited for my need compared to the electric ones.I narrowed my search down to Yamaha F310
    Hobner F 245
    Givson - G150

Please suggest me which one to choose and why?Also let me know any shop where i can get these in Kolkata.
    Thanks

2. probuddha

probuddha Aspiring Guitarist

Go to Braganza...the music instruments shop opposite to Jamuna cinema hall in Kyd Street....it is THE best music shop in the city.

3. Frets_n_Strings

Frets_n_Strings New Member

Some help ...

Hey man,

I know what you mean - i have been thru it ! ... about 10 years ago i didnt know which guitar to buy.

I am sure u know all the dos and donts - but let me revise that quickly.

Acoustic Guitars are the big wooden ones with the sweet sound. The Electric ones are the shiny sleek ones that u plug into amps.

Acoustic guitars are ideal for you at this stage cause you dont see your self playing onstage sometime from now. besides you need somethign that will give you a good sound and help you practice.

Reco - go for an acoustic guitar. try not to splurge. look out for the following -
    1. THere are some good brands of guitar in Kolkatta. You should be able to select a good one.If you dont know how to select - go with someone who knows how to pick out a good guitar.

If u dont have anyone - read this -
    Guitars are like roses - you need to look around and pick out the good ones. Dont be hasty. take your time. Its worth it.