I need help in selecting a processor and an amp!

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by ilovegadgets, Oct 10, 2006.

1. ilovegadgets

ilovegadgets New Member

I am a guitar newbie going to buy my first guitar processor and amp. Since I will be using my gear for home practice purposes only, I don't want to invest a fortune.

I have my eyes on the stranger cube 20 amp. I know it is not as good as the marshalls but it should be fine for practice purposes right? How loud is it? I will also be connecting my microphone to it. Will I be able to hear my guitar and my voice properly?

As for the processor my choices are between the two brands zoom and digitech. Which should I go for? If I go for a digitech, should I get the rp50 or the rp80? What are the advantages of rp80 over rp50? I see rp80 has an expression pedal. What is an expression pedal? Is it something you use to quickly switch between effects? I don't want to get a rp80 and save money if it is the same as the rp50.

Or should I dump the whole processor idea and go for distoration pedals? Basically I will be doing punk rock songs in the start and later would move on to grunge and metal. I don't want to be buying a pedal for every song. I want all-round machine that I can use for at least a year.

As you see I am extremely confused over this. Please help me out.

2. getshorty80

getshorty80 New Member

Alright dude! Let me see if i can help u?!

Ok i am just nothing when compared to the guys here so take this as another suggestion. i might also be wrong.

If its budget then u r running into the same problem as i did like 5-6 years back.