how to play chords of a song

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by misec misc, May 16, 2009.

1. misec misc

misec misc New Member

i can see the chords of a song.......but can anyone suggest how to play the chords means how long to keep strumming a chord and then go to next chord.............i am a beginner in guitar.........

2. Harsh Kumar

Harsh Kumar The Official IGT Jester

If you can tap your feet to a song than you can change the chords as well!!
    Change it at the point where there is a bass change( usuallly) and the moment you tap change!!

Hope it helps!

3. santanu_c

santanu_c New Member

Hello.................

4. Harsh Kumar

Harsh Kumar The Official IGT Jester

Hiiiii..............

5. misec misc

misec misc New Member

hmmmm.........okay so now i have a question related to strumming..........in strumming if u have to play a chord like C or Cm, then u put the fingers on frets and play all the stings together in one stroke downwards or one-by-one string downwards? i think all the strings together in one stroke..........

one more question - if u see the chords of a song, then how to decide when to keep strumming a chord and when to go for a next chord........and how long to keep strumming a chord.............

plz help...........

6. soumya256

soumya256 New Member

hii...i had d same problem in d beginning

here..i wud suggest u to sing while playing chords
    just lyk d oder guy said when there is a change of bass just change d chord
    u will kno it b practice

i hope it helps...:)

7. misec misc

misec misc New Member

okay...........what about my question: in strumming if u have to play a chord like C or Cm, then u put the fingers on frets and play all the stings together in one stroke downwards or one-by-one string downwards?............

one more question: when strumming say C then we only keep strumming C downwards only or one C downward then one C upward then again one C downward? hope i am clear....

plz help.....

8. premdass