help needed in scales

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by FiXXXeR, Apr 13, 2005.

1. FiXXXeR

FiXXXeR New Member

hey guys......i'm a beginner an iam somewhat stuck with the scales........i read on this site itself that the scales would sound like sa re ga ma or do re me.....whatever......but ive tried all the five scales namely major,minor pentoic,blues,major pentaoic and minor but none of em sounds like dat.....plz help me out....thanx. :rock: :rock: :rock:

2. dennis

dennis The Bhangra King

k..lets start from the basics
    Basically we have the notes C,D,E,F,G,A,B,C which correspont to ur Sa , Re Ga, Ma, etc.
    Now a scales i basically a sequence of notes arranged in a certain intervallic fashion.
    Dont get scared.

Another thing u gotta know before we proceed:
    Half Step: when u go from C to C#, or C# to D or B to C
    Remember: c,c#,d,d#,e,f,f#,g,g#,a,a#,b,c. (and similarly u can get it in terms of flats)

So now...major scale:
    the formula for the construction of a major scale goes as:
    F-F-H-F-F-F-H. where F- is a full step(2 half steps) and H denotes a half step.
    Example:we wanna find the C major scale..so using the above formula
    a full step from C is C->C#->D. Then a full step from D is D->D#->E
    Half step from E is E-> F..and so on u get:
    C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C
    This is the C major scale..this is ur Sa,Re,Ga,Ma scale.

So u can construct any major scale.

3. sayanakaharry

sayanakaharry Forum Leader

correction

A little reminder that it isnt F-F-H-F-F-F-H but F-F-F-H-F-F-F-H

4. dennis

dennis The Bhangra King

no dude..u are wrong..apply it to the C major scale and see what u get!!

5. ambuj

ambuj Pro Tabber

dennis is right.. its F-F-H-F-F-F-H

6. aleric

aleric New Member

Yeah, it is F-F-H-F-F-F-H

A good way to remember this is two "F-F-H"s seperated by "F" ( Read on some website ;) )

:rockon:

7. ananth222

ananth222 Beginner

there may be several reasons why your "scale" does not sound like sa re ga ma.