Gamakas

Discussion in 'Carnatic Music of South India' started by twarak, Jun 20, 2005.

1. twarak

twarak New Member

This is my attempt to explain gamakas
    Dsiclaimer: I am not an expert by any means.. This is just an interpretation of the gamakas i heard from carnatic instrumentalists.

Gamaka-1 Slide
    Slide is simple concept, but the timing of the slide can change the feel of the gamaka. Say you are sliding for one beat from Sa to Ni. You can slide through the cycle of one beat such that the start you at Sa and in the end of the beat you are at Ni.
    yoU COULD SPEND 3/4TH OF BEAT AT SA AND QUICKLY GO TO nI BEFORE THE BEAT ENDS

nOTE THAT THE TWO GAMAKAS EVEN THOUGH HAVE SAME ORIGIN and ending CAN HAVE A SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT FEEL.

Let me illustrate using time plot by dividing a beat in to 4 parts
    | |indicates a quarter and -- indicates slide

|Sa-|-----|-----|- Ni | (here we stay at sa only at the start of first quarter and slide all the duration of the slide ultimately reaching Ni at the end of the last quarter)
    |Sa-|Sa|Sa |-- Ni |(here we stay at sa only up to the start of third quarter and slide all the duration of the slide ultimately reaching Ni at the end of the last quarter)

|Sa-|-----|-Ni| Ni |here we stay at sa only up to the start of third quarter and slide all the duration of the slide ultimately reaching Ni at the end of the lthird quarter and continue to stay at Ni up the end)

oNE MAY TRY DIFFERENT COMBINATIONS

Gamaka-2 (Continuous slide up/down between two notes)
    One may apply the gama-1 concept. However, one can flutter between the two notes.

Gamaka 3-Progressive slide up or down
    This can be used for sliding from high Sa to the lower Sa. For example Sankarabharanam

Instead of playing Sa-Ni-dha-Pa-Ma-ga-ri-sa, You can play as

Sa- (Sa-ni-S-ni)- (nI-DA-NI-DA)-(Da-Pa-Da)-Pa-(Pa-Ma-ga-Ma-ga)-(ga-ri-ga-ri)- sa