Fibonacci Series and music

Discussion in 'Music Talk' started by vivekthakur, Jan 18, 2005.

1. vivekthakur

vivekthakur New Member

Hi ppl

I have been playing guitar since 2 years. i learnt from net only, thanks to sites like IGT.

I often wondered what is the reason behind the 1-3-5 major chord interval structure. Means why only 1-3-5 notes of the major scale? I found the Ellliot wave pattern (used in stock markets and in stock software which i was making) quite interesting and some realtion to music too. The answers led me to something very interesting: Fibonacci series. 1,3,5 are part of the fibonacci series!! Below is a part of the article i found on net:

(note: Golden ratio is a ratio of alternate fibonacci numbers!)
    Using the Golden Ratio has enhanced many works of art. During the Renaissance, Leonardo da Vinci – aware of the proportions of the Golden Section – used them to enhance his paintings’ appeal. He said, "If a thing does not have the right look, it does not work."

For this reason, many paintings often use a rectangular canvas with a Golden Ratio because it has a better look than a different shaped canvas such as a square. For example, a portrait picture will often be approximately 1.618 times as high as it is wide or a landscape picture will be 1.618 times as long as it is high.

In music, the scale is based on an 8-note octave. The piano keyboard has 8 white keys and 5 black keys making 13 keys in total.

As a guitar player, I regularly play bar chords that contain the 1st, 3rd and 5th notes of the scale (1, 3, 5 Fibonacci numbers) as they create the sweetest tonality. Triad chords make up a vast majority of popular tunes and they are made with the 1st, 3rd and 5th notes of a scale. For example, a D major chord contains the notes A, D and F sharp – the 5th, 1st and 3rd notes of the D major scale.

The cochlea of the inner ear is shaped in a Fibonacci logarithmic spiral, which explains why it sounds so good to us.