Fat Strat????? Need help here

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by cronix, May 1, 2006.

1. cronix

cronix New Member

hey guys i am a beginner at electric guitars..... could anyone tell me the difference between fat strat and normal strat..... also please explain about pickups and term such as humbucker, S-S-H etc..... Need help here!!!

2. jocelyn

jocelyn New Member

A fat strat has a Humbucker in the bridge instead of a single coil. A normal strat has three single coil pickups. In general Single coils have a thinner, brighter Punchy tone, great for clean chord work in the neck posion. Humbukers have a smooth,warm thicker tone great for Lead work in the Bridge. But these are not hard and fast rules. Hendrix, Blackmore, all used sthree single coil equiped strats for most of the time. And players like Slash,Santana, Joe Sat Kirk Hammet, Eddie Van Hallen have used Humbukers for most of the time.

3. Saptashaw

Saptashaw PRO Tabber

Generally, if you want to play Blues, u should go for normal Strat.

4. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!

Yeah but Fat strat will give him more tonal choices.

Besides, if the humbucker has the split coil tapping, he can switch only one pikcup of the humbucker making it single coil.

That means he will have advantage of having both humbucker and single coil on same guitar.

5. jocelyn

jocelyn New Member

Yes but it is only "GENERALY " speaking and that to it it applies to only if you want a BLUES STRAT TONE like Buddy Guy, or the likes. Many Blues players prefer a warmer tone in the bridge or a warm tone from both bridge and neck. Depends on what kind of tone you are looking for.

6. UjSen

UjSen *#!EVIL*!!

what strat do i have?

i have two humbuckers and one single:eek::

7. jocelyn

jocelyn New Member

I play blues and I have One humbuker and a single coil. I rarly touch the single coil. What i am trying to say is it all depends on your tonal prefrence.

8. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!

Yours is HSH most prob.