Chords query

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by pranavsg07, Apr 10, 2010.

1. pranavsg07

pranavsg07 New Member

Hi friends. I joined a guitar class in pune. Our sir told us to use all the string for playing chords. So a D major would be 200232. The 6th string is played by the thumb. He said that all the notes of a chord should be played. I searched the internet but could not find any info on this.
    Does anyone know about it?

2. raga2303

raga2303 Member

D chaord will contain D, F# and A note. When you play 200232 - you actually play, F#, A, D, A, D, F#.. therefore what you are playing is all nodes of D chord only..

3. rockii

rockii New Member

i am a beginner.so i am practicsing only leading guitar notes & i don't know chords.can anyone help me & give notes for tamil songs

4. milesfastguy

milesfastguy New Member

it depends. D major should contain D,F# and A. We normally do this by playing xx0232 where u play the notes D,A,D,F#. here D is played twice to reinforce the root note. similarly we can give the chord more color by repeating the A note. so we can play x00232 where we play A,D,A,D,F#. but usually we dont repeat the 3rd note of a chord(F# in this case). we normally repeat the root and the fifth. so wat ur referring to 200232 has a F# in the bass so wat ur playing is actually a D/F# chord which are referred to as major chord inversions or chord voicings or more commonly Slash chords.
    cheers!

5. milesfastguy

milesfastguy New Member