Carnatic Scales

Discussion in 'Tamil Guitar Tabs - Submit or Request' started by xtreme_skatah, Mar 2, 2007.

1. xtreme_skatah

xtreme_skatah New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to these boards and I'm not sure if this thread is in the right area. Well I'm a metal guitarist and I want to add some carnatic scales into my arsenal (Really weird, but meh). Could someone please post up some scales for me? Thanks.

2. mylaiexpress

mylaiexpress New Member

here you go
    raag shanakarabaranam-c major in western
    raag keeravaani-a minor(harmonic)minor
    raag kalyani-g major
    raag mohanam-arohanam(acending)cdegc avarohanam(decending)cgedc

3. mylaiexpress

mylaiexpress New Member

thts it for now i ll submit many more in the near future!

4. ronnieanand

ronnieanand n00bier th@n th0u

There's a mistake :annoyed: :annoyed:

Shankarabaranam = Any Major Scale....
    Look at the intervels in both Shankarabaranam and any Major Scale....

Whoever told you that Sa means C is a big Nut.....In Western, the basic note is A which is defined as 440Hz. In Carnatic, C is the natural pitch of any voice. For a girl, the Sa will be high and for a male it will be low...Even tuning of Carnatic Instruments will be done based on the vocalist's pitch. Even if you take a Shruthi Box, you can see that Sa can be adjusted to your convenience....Everybody dont sing in the same Sa...

Kalyani = Lydian Scale and not G Major Scale....G Major Scale is also Shankarabaranam Scale starting in G.

If you notice that Kalayni and Shankarabaranam have the same notes except the M. Shankarabaranam has M1 and Kalyani has M2. M2 means Flattened Fifth, ie. Tritone or Three Tone Intervals from the Root.

In G major, 3 tones from the G = C#....Which means for a Kalayni C# is the most important note that will differentiate it from Shankarabaranam. So G Lydian would be the right equivalent....

Mohanam = Major Pentatonic Scale....

5. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!