Can one who learn guitar by himself play better than a professional guitarist?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by susanthom, Nov 17, 2011.

1. susanthom

susanthom New Member

People say that once a person teach himself guitar he can't play better than a professional guitarist? Is that true? Do you know autodidacts play better than professional ones?

2. mymusicmyguitar

mymusicmyguitar Active Member

Its just the matter of how well and in proper manner you train urself..

There are few fellow guitarists that i know who dont know any damn theory and are self taught but they can play any given song by just listening. They absolutely dont care bout the scales..modes and other theoretical aspects.

Well its really difficult to say who can play better. Definitely learning theory and other aspects from someone else gives u that extra edge over the self taught ones. You know what you r playing and its really important IMO.

There is also a down side to people who are self taught. They tend to take lot of time to reach that high level of guitarin because they are the people who are kind of lost somewhere in lot of theory and understanding of music...(Well there are many exceptions too....)

Dimebag darrell is probably a self taught guitarist. He is a crazy guitarist. Well heard of Indian Ocean..Sushmit is the guy who is a self taught as well...Excellent classical melodies and riffs..Also Slash...

3. bjr

bjr Lady of the Evening

The concept of A being better than B is a gray area. What parameters do you judge on? Beyond the basics of theory, you really cannot be 'trained' and do need to find your own sound. It depends on the ear for music/innate ability as well.

Assuming there were parameters to judge on, even so you couldn't really compare 2 different people. A better question would probably be: Would a person who learnt guitar by himself be better than if he were taught?

My answer to that would be "maybe".

4. wylder

wylder Member