aaah.... my hand!

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by monalisa, Jan 19, 2006.

1. monalisa

monalisa New Member

Hello everyone,

I have a problem here. please help :help:

I'm a guitar student.
    now a days I can play some chords of song & can sing along a lil bit.
    When I start playing the chords it sounds perfect.
    But at the middle of the song I feel pain in my hand
    specially my wrist & my palm muscles. Then i can't press the strings properly.
    They stop ringing.Then everything just sound so bad!
    Please suggest some remedies guys.

Do u think by practicing I can overcome it? :confused:

2. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!

LOL
    This is similar to saying:
    Suggestion: when you take up something new, u will ofcourse get pains while doing it.
    Give some time to yourslef and your body to adjust.

vini likes this.
  3. probuddha

probuddha Aspiring Guitarist

Monalisa....this clearly shows that you are an absolute newbie in playing guitar.

It happens to everybody...atleast it happened to me.

The only thing you need to do is practice..and practice. Do some finger stretching exercises and keep playing the chords...initially you will feel the pain but after a few days it will be gone..

Keep playing..nothing to worry about and all the best :)

Cheers !!
    Probuddha

4. BrO`'kEn_SwOrD

BrO`'kEn_SwOrD New Member

before some 6 yrs when i started playing guitar.... i used to face the same problem. but as time went on the problem reduces n now it is about to vanish.
    but i suggest u one thing.... use some other guitar...many times it depends on the guitar also. sometimes there is some prblm with guitar, like - the strings r too away frm fretboard..so u need to press it too hard which causes the pain in ur wrist. if u r using some Indian brand guitar like givson ( though they r pretty good at sound), this problem is common.
    there r some exercises available on ultimateguitar.com . just go through those.