Zoom G3

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by shubhamAT, Mar 13, 2012.

1. shubhamAT

shubhamAT New Member

Hi All,

I got a Zoom G3 last week from Guitar Store India for ~12700 with shipping. The device is pretty intuitive to use and quite rugged in construction. Since i am a beginner i can't really say how it fares with other pedals but the tones are better than the previous two i have had in the past (Zoom 500 MkII and Korg AX100G). The Metal type tone one can get are also better than my Spider 15's Metal and Insane channels. Although there are only 3 slots available on it, i use the Reverb/Tape Echo from Spider so it frees one slot. Apart from this i have a Behringer US600 which i plan to use in chain with the G3 for pitch shifting. The pitch shift effect on G3 always mixes the shifted and original signal so it's no good if you want a dropped/raised tuning.

This has been my experience so far with the gadget. If any one of you have the same do share your patch settings.

2. sDEVs

sDEVs Inventor

Good, I have a Zoom G2. Whats the new addition in this one?

3. shubhamAT

shubhamAT New Member

This one has a different UI. It has 3 Slots with 1 LCD screen and 3 knobs each. Each slot acts an individual pedal. You can assign one of the 90+ virtual pedals to each of these slots and individually turn on/off these slots. One can control parameters (gain, level, presence etc) of each slot with the 3 knobs. Many pedals have more than 3 params which are accessed through a page button. Thus, what you get is a 3 pedal chain. G3 still has patches in the traditional sense except instead of building a patch with drive/modulation/delay/reverb etc one builds a patch by choosing pedals. It has slots for 100 patches from A0-J9. Apart from this it has a tuner which supports alternate tunings, a drum machine (only tempo and pattern can be adjusted) and a looper (haven't used it yet).

Zoomg3.jpg