Work in NO Progress!!!

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by Wildchild_Sam, May 30, 2008.

1. Wildchild_Sam

Wildchild_Sam New Member

Alright, heres the whole thing.

I've been playing since 1.5 years now and have managed to learn quite a bit.
    I'm totally self taught (surely at times i used the net,my dad,and uncle too).
    I practice everyday but its kinnda as if i'm not making any progress.

My practice session includes,

Chromatic Warm ups
    Barre Chords
    Power Chords
    Strumming

Scales
    Major
    Minor
    Pentatonic Minor
    Blues
    Chromatic
    But ALL OF THESE ARE BASIC STANDARD POSITIONS!!!

Things i can play,
    I play Stuff like Greenday (Good for powerchords)
    Metallica,Megadeth Riffs (Good for speedy riffs)
    And all the usual songs finger picking n all that.

Things i wanna play..
    I wanna play Solos (my dream is to become a lead guitarist)

So finally......what should i include in my practice?????

Thanks in Advance.
    Sam

2. bjr

bjr Lady of the Evening

Recording a backing track (this in itself can be surprisingly difficult)...try not to get into a rut with rythm, time and keys.

Practising over it.

Recording over it.

Posting it online.

3. bjr

bjr Lady of the Evening

or even if you're not posting it online, let people around you (musicians AND non musicians) listen to it and give you their opinion.

The non-musicians are also very important here.

4. Wildchild_Sam

Wildchild_Sam New Member

^^
    The Thing is that ..the stuff i play is decent ...

But i cant play stuff i want to ....like soloing n stuff.....

5. sukrut

sukrut God Guitarist

did someone from the back mention practice????

dude/dudett...........pick a solo......look at its tabs......put in hours of gruelling hard work......there'e absolutely no substitute for that......