Which one should i opt for??? An electric guitar or a Bass ??

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by karan.different, Jul 19, 2012.

1. karan.different

karan.different New Member

Hey, I've been playing coustic for nearly 2-3 years..Now, i want to buy either an electric or a bass..I'm confused which one to buy..
    I've heard that ders always a demand for bass guitarists..I've heard that bass isnt too hard if u've learned basics like power chords & ol from acoustics...so, what do u suggest??
    Which one should i opt..?

2. tirtha2chester

tirtha2chester New Member

Learning up bass guitar barely takes a couple of weeks... Unless you wanna be good at it...

People rarely pick up playing bass out of choice..
    Either two of the following things happen: Most new bands don't find bassists so manage a bass guitar and teach a friend which notes to play. Sometimes they ask an amateur to play the bass for them in concerts or full time.. That's mostly the case...

Any guitarist can adapt to a bass guitar IMO, however, it takes time to become somebody like Cliff Burton, John Myung, Les Claypool or Flea....

Other than that its your choice how you wanna proceed..

3. mymusicmyguitar

mymusicmyguitar Active Member

Dude pick up a bass guitar!!! There is shortage of Bass Players everywhere!!! :p

4. fena

fena New Member

it depends; the only answer to your question is, "play what you want to play". if you can't make up your mind yet, then don't rush into it..take some time and browse the internet, read articles about each instrument and watch youtube videos, etc also you can try borrowing and feeling both the instruments out. this will help you lots in coming to a decision.
    After sometime, either one will get the better of you, only then, you should invest in it. ( there can be a case "i like this one, but i think the other instrument is cooler"..if so, buy the one you like, you wont regret it).