Which Keyboard to Buy ?

Discussion in 'Misc Musical Instruments' started by sixstringsin, Mar 14, 2006.

1. sixstringsin

sixstringsin ||||||

I plan to buy a keyboard in the next few days...my budget is arnd 12k (and can stretch on 1-2k if theres a good reason).
    I am a total newbie and dont have an idea as to what all effects to check for before buying one. I have played on a casio and a yamaha (dont know which model) and I could not differentialte much -except for the fact that the yamaha one had lot more sound/effects (voice/styles) and additionally had a metronome.

Appreciate if anyone could guide me on some best buying practices (kindof..) and suggest a particular make/model ... within the budget!

thanks!

2. Guitar boy

Guitar boy New Member

In that budget, go for yamaha PSR 295..
    In India you don't have many options.. you have casio/yamaha to be popular in entry level boards. Casio is more toyish, yamaha PSR models are decent.

PSR 295 has got 480 voices, 150 styles, auto accompaniment is there, and you can store 5 songs (5 + 1 drum track each) in its internal memory. But it doesn't have a MIDI interface, it has got USB.

If you can shed out around 16-18K, then you can get a model with Floppy drive, it helps in storing MIDI/yamaha song files.

This may be useful.
    https://music.yamaha.com/products/categoryProducts.html?groupId=23

3. sixstringsin

sixstringsin ||||||

thanks a lot guitar boy for ur views!
    Agian can you/anyone also let me know what is the difference/advantage of having the midi interface over usb or vice-versa?

I have a pc and is my assumption correct that there would be some mean to store recorded files on pc (hard drive) ...so does it make sense to to spare xtra money for floppy based kbrd?

thnx again!

4. Guitar boy

Guitar boy New Member

MIDI port on your keyboard will be useful to connect other devices to their MIDI port.