what is music?..Guitar-Meditation!!

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by kramro, Nov 14, 2005.

1. kramro

kramro New Member

i started playing over 30 years ago,im totally self-taught,& ive had 2 lessons when i was 12,in which i learnt & forgot house of the rising sun & home on the range!...From the very start i never learnt a song off a record,prefering to absorb it & what it meant to me on a emotional level....I always tried to only play just for the expression of my different moods & feelings,in fact i tried as much as possible not to play (i never considered it practising)in the excepted sense!...My guitar playing friends would have guitar for breakfast,& then continue for many hours each day,franticly trying to imitate the guitarist of flavor of the month,(be it eddie van halen,pat metheny or whoever) & yes to some extent they did get better in their playing & a little faster,but to my mind there was something very unsatisfying about this.I think on one hand they saw it as a tool to impress others that they could play exactly like whoever & there was a complete lack of their own identity,...when it came to writing it always sounded a bad imitation of whoever they were into at the time...Of course i would have my favorite players too,but i always felt,that it was something more than just learning a series of notes,& more to do with the inner essense of why these players arrived at these particular notes,& that i should get beyond my influences!...So i began an approach of playing the guitar as if i was the first person to ever discover such a strange instrument!....I began to play like a child,only playing what was nessary,it became almost a form of prayer,both in my playiny & song writing,and it developed a purity about,like a kind of Zen meditation,discarding of ego & only playing for what i considered were the right reasons!....& sometimes not playing for days or even 5 minites at a time.....I would rarely play at partys if asked too,& as soon as