What does it take to become a good lead player?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by nehemiah, Feb 12, 2005.

1. nehemiah

nehemiah New Member

Greetings to all you IGTians.
    I have had formal training for abt a year after which I stopped and now wish to continue again.
    In terms of knowledge I am way way behind many here :nw: but before I begin learning I want to know what does it take to become a good lead guitar player? :think:
    Any lessons in particular or learning the usual chords would suffice? what i am looking for are those fast leads at the extreme end of the fret board :rockon:

2. Subhro

Subhro Argentina lost :"(

good post... i wana know too...

the only leads i play good r those which i hav practised ovr n ovr agn :eek::

3. shak

shak Harrr!

i dunno what to say .. as i am still learning but here is what i think you should know...

1. know your scales (the basic shapes and the exotic ones as well)
    2. know your modes.. (and get comfortable with them)
    3. listen to other great artists..( will help you to develope your sense of music)
    4. improvisation!!... no particular tut for this bit... its all upto you.
    5. learn licks and riffs..there are loads out there on the web.. you can use them in your music with a little or no improvisation. e.g
    e|---------5---------------------|
    b|--------5--8p5-----------------|
    g|7b(hold)--------8p7p5--5-5-----|
    d|----------------------7-----5h7|
    this is a typical blues/rock lick.. can be improvised in sooooo many ways ..yet it always sounds good.. so look around for stuff like this.
    6. practice. ( important bit :) )

hope this helps.... but do wait for the real IGT musicians to answer your query.

4. nehemiah

nehemiah New Member

Glad to have you guys around and i am sure I will learn a lot here. I believe your post will be pretty helpful shahrukh, got to try it out. and yes what exactly are modes and scales and if you could expalin that bit of tab you have given