USB or traditional?

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by dbanik, May 31, 2009.

1. dbanik

dbanik New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie to guitars and want to get started with an electric. Obviously, I want to start with some low cost but decent hardware.

On researching various entry-level guitars I came across the Behringer iAxe 624 Centari USB. It has a USB interface which let you connect directly to a computer and use included software to do the amp's job. It's available for 14.4k at Bajaao.com. I am tempted to consider this as an option instead of a traditional guitar and amp set up. Here are some reasons...

- I don't need an amp. The software amp claims to emulate the features of some high-end amps, so I may be getting much better results than a real, but cheap amp.

- I have pretty good speakers with my computer, so again sound quality may be better than a cheap amp.

- Recording and mixing can be done without any additional equipment.

- It's probably the cheapest option, unless going for a really low-end combo.

Well, those were the positives. There are also some reasons why I doubt if it would be a good buy.

- As far as features, sound and built quality go, it's probably not a very good unit for it's price. For a few thousands more, I can get a pretty decent guitar and a not-so-bad 15W amp (thinking about the Marshall MG15CDR).

- I don't know how "real" the software emulated sound is going to be.