Types of Acoustic Guitar

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by acoustic_ear, May 29, 2006.

1. acoustic_ear

acoustic_ear New Member

Hi all,

I just started learning to play the guitar recently and plan to buy my own guitar this week. I see that there are 2 types of acoustic guitars - one with a hole in the center and the other with a f-cut. I personally like the one with the hole cause it sounds louder but my wife likes the f-cut cause its sleeker, lighter and hence easier to play even with it strapped on your shoulders.

Now what i want to know is whether there is any distinct advantage or disadvantage associated with either and which is a better buy ...

Thanks a lot in advance.

2. jocelyn

jocelyn New Member

:) Hi welcome to forum.. Honestly this is toatly your call. what you like better, sounds better and feels better to you. Do look around you will defintly find a guitar with the round sound hole that feels very comfortabl and light... It just depends what it is made of.....

3. vini

vini Repeat Offender

in terms of sound, a round hole would be better than f hole in my opinion!..although i agree it might look less attractive than f and less "sleeker" as well!

4. CrYpTiC_angel

CrYpTiC_angel Rebelle!

:RollLol:
    You want guitar for playing music or as a show-off piece?

In similar vein I would discount Grand Piano, since it is so large, and very difficult to transport + it is costly like hell.
    So what if it sounds like heaven?

:mad:

5. acoustic_ear

acoustic_ear New Member

hi Cryptic

You want guitar for playing music or as a show-off piece?

It is not for show-off. Let me rephrase the question. It has to be something comfortable for you to play. The piano thing that you said, is a silly comparison cause you wouldnt normally suspend a piano from you shoulders.