The Neo Cons of Mylapore!!!!

Discussion in 'Carnatic Music of South India' started by jayswami, Apr 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jayswami

jayswami Blue J

2. golisoda

golisoda Comfortably Numb

I am no great musician to comment on SR's music but I pity her that she cant even pronounce some of those words in Nagumomu..... In the end the whole meaning of worship was lost, I have nothing against fusion but what abt bhavam...It looks like she is seducing someone with that song.... Sorry to be offtopic..... I hope that what ever music comes out of your band leaves the sanctity and essence of the song.... I guess some kid of future might think thyagaraja was singing a romantic or seductive song.....if she becomes popular...

My two cents...

I think in that forum more than music..... egos clashed a lot.

3. golisoda

This reminds me of Pablo Fransisco's stand up comedy joke..... where he makes mockery of Americans at pubs swinging and dancing to Death Metal songs having lyrics 'why dont you kill me'....Quite funny when people ignorant of the essence of the song swing to it....

4. jayswami

jayswami Blue J

5. golisoda

Yah read that....its more of ego and chauvunism showing off......narendra modi of south india.......

6. ananth222

ananth222 Beginner

This is disgusting for just one reason - she is USING the existing mystique of Indian classical music to popularize her so called fusion. If the only music one can make is by taking parts from different places and mixing them, the least they can do is be respectful of the tradtions. otherwise don't copy. use ur own lyrics, ur own music ur own stuff. but I guess she doesn't have the talent to do that.
    This is just like the movie directors in hollywood USING the mystique associated with India and showing Indians riding elephants and charming snakes n stuff (in the old movies) - any decent Indian would hate that. Just like any decent carnatic fan would hate this.

7. ananth222