The A form - SOS

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by iprakash, Jun 11, 2006.

1. iprakash

iprakash Proud IGTian

Hello IGTians, I have been playing the guitar since 10 months now. In the beginning barre chords seemed to be very difficult and the thing to master. After a lot of practice I was finally able to play barre chords but only for the E form (First of which was the 6 string 'F' chord). Another major class of barres use the A form (Three fingers on the same fret). It is this form for which I need help.

I have tried and tried but without success. Can experienced people here guide me how to really master the A form in barre chords. There are posts on this site telling that people generally play this form using the following fingerings:

If Index = 1, Middle = 2, Ring = 3 & Pinky = 4 then

Form 1 =

e|---|---|-1-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    B|---|---|---|---|-4-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    G|---|---|---|---|-3-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    D|---|---|---|---|-2-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    A|---|---|-1-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    E|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---

Form 2 =

B|---|---|---|---|-3-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    D|---|---|---|---|-3-|---|---|---|---|---|---|---
    End If

Both the above fingerings don't work for me. Form 2 is simply not possible with my not-so-long-and-flexible fingers, but I can manage Form 1 partially. The problem is that the middle finger justs positions itself too far from the fret causing the concerned string (D) to buzz.

Are there are tricks here? Are there alternate easy forms? I simply want to play the chords that require this fingering (like the Bb, B etc). Please help. :help:

2. .:SpY_GaMe:.

.:SpY_GaMe:. New Member

take ur first finger cover the whole 3rd fret press it well

take ur 3rd finger cover the strings B G D at fret 5 sounds crazy to do u need practice thats it