Strumming Problem..

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by ajs12902, Apr 26, 2005.

1. ajs12902

ajs12902 New Member

I'm trying to play Fm, E, D, E in a strumming pattern.. but my strum has alot of vibration.. sounds a lil noizy.. my fingers are postioned correctly from what i see.. could it be the way i flatten my finger? or is it.. the guitar.. lol.. tips n suggestions will be appreciated! thianks :nw:

2. deathdr_87

deathdr_87 Awesome Guitarist

its ur palying... jsut keep practising - ull get the hang of it

3. sayanakaharry

sayanakaharry Forum Leader

if u are playing barre chords then check the pressure of ur barre finger. else check whether the action is too low, if it is then try raising the bridge a bit.

4. ajs12902

ajs12902 New Member

yeah i am playing barre chords.. sorry but.. what do you exactly mean by " check whether the action is too low, if it is then try raising the bridge a bit". complete newbie here..
    and my pressure.. hmm.. i flatten my index finger pretty hard/tigh against the frets.. ..

5. deathdr_87

@sayanaka:

dont advise a newbie to fool around with the action and all before hes got his basic playing style right - its best to learn how to play chords properly and worry about action later... when u develop an individual style.

@ajs: - the only way to play them properly is by practising - keep at it - ull eventually find the best way to play the chords - a little piece of advice - hold the chord and then pick each individual note on the chord - ull see which one is getting muted and not sounding fully - then try and change how you are holding the chord to make sure that the muting is corrected and each note sounds right - keep at this till you get it right - ignore any advice trelling u to change anything with ur guitar - you should be able to play the basic chords on even the worst guitar in the world that has all its frets and strings...