Strumming.....HELP!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by smak, May 28, 2006.

1. smak

smak New Member

Hi Fellas,

I have been a passive member of this community for quite a while. This is the first time that I am actually writing to you guys. I usually get most of the stuff in the forums;thats why didn't ever had to write. However, I have a peculiar problem while playing the guitar. I strum well with my thumb but when it comes to using a pick, i never get the hang of it.

I have been playing the guitar for the past 3 years. Initially i liked strumming with the thumb as it gives a nice thump to the sound and used the pick(plectrum) only for playing lead. But now when I have started using a pick for strumming, I just can't seem to do it. The sound is too course and imprecise, doesn't sound like music at all. I hold the pick in the traditional way, that is in between my index finger(the side part) and thumb. I am confused with the angles at which the pick should have contact with the strings!! What angle should the pick be while strumming down and when strumming up.....i have no idea!!!!!

I live in Saudi Arabia, and it's impossible to find people here who are in to music and guitars. So I shall be pleased to recieve any kind of assistance from you pros. Looking forward to your replies.

Yours Truly

Saied M. A. Khan

2. bjr

bjr Lady of the Evening

Its a practice thing. You can't get it perfect in a day you know.

3. zing

zing Machine Head

yeah i had th same prob - it wil take sum time 2 get used 2
    try using thin plectrums for strummin & thicker ones for lead - it wil help

4. ambush

ambush _RASTA_man_

Try holding the pick at the tip i.e strum with just a few mm of the pick coming out of your finger

It takes away some plastic sound

5. smak

smak New Member

Thanks a lot for the replies. I am aware of the fact that for playing an instrument there are no easy shortcuts. I have been trying it for quite a while now.