Planning to buy an F cut acoustic guitar, need advise

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by manju_is, Nov 20, 2008.

1. manju_is

manju_is New Member

query regarding acoustic guitar.

I am planning to buy an F cut acoustic guitar.as i am a beginner i dont know much about guitars.
    my budget is 3k to 4k.and what is the use of pick ups in acoustic guitars? and i m thinking whether to buy the one with pick up. please suggest me the good brand for acoustic guitar. and also suggest about the pick up. should i go for the guitar with pick up.
    waiting for the reply.....
    thanks in advance.

2. angel_of_sin

angel_of_sin bassist.....

dude only high quality( and high priced) F cuts sound good......a beginner should always go wid a round hole guitar......my first guitar was a Givson F cut and dis is my experience speaking....

as for da picups....dey are da device which picks up sound from da instruments and den routes it to da amplifier....in acoustic guitars dey allow da 'acoustics' to be connected wid da amplifier......( such 'acoutics' are called semi-electrics).......

its better to make a one time investment...so raise your budget and buy a GB&A or Yamaha or Takamine or Ovation (price range 5-15 k)

however, in your budget da best option would be to go for a Pluto or a Granada..(since lower end GB&A, yamaha's dont sound dat good).....

acoustics(all guitars in genral) must carefully be observed for defects before buying so its better to take an expert with you.........

3. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!

First of all - forget about f cut.
    They sound horrible.
    The cheaper ones sound as if the guitar is made of plastic.

For 3 to 4K you will get a decent dreadnought design (round hole).

Forget about pickups also. Spend the entire 4K budget only on acoustic guitar.

Pickups etc can come later when you feel the need.

If you concern is playing on stage or recording, you can do so using microphone - so spending money NOW on pickups is a WASTE.