ok i am thinking abt the option of linux

Discussion in 'Computer Forum' started by .:SpY_GaMe:., Jun 7, 2006.

1. .:SpY_GaMe:.

.:SpY_GaMe:. New Member

finally after reading all the linux rocks n windozzz sucks (from zing ;) n others too ) i am planning to get linux on my pc

so here r my questions since i am a newbie concerning linux

1.what r the +points linux has over windozzzz??
    2.which version to install??? i have an amd 2800 1.6ghz0
    3.is it true that some softwares dont run on linux??
    4.procedures to follow plzzzz if possible
    5.i have 3 partitions on my pc i know how to format the c drive containing windozzz but what abt the two other drives ???how to format them?>???:eek::
    6.can i instal linux on drive c n windoz on drive d ????wont that cause any clash
    ?????
    7.any advice + suggestion/??

thnx in advance:rock:

2. Guitar boy

Guitar boy New Member

I dont know the exact procedure. But it was easy for me. I had Win XP on C drive, D was empty. I booted with Redhat 9 CD, and after that it was easy like just cliking NEXT and entering values (like size of ur partition, date, time etc).

You will face difficulties while doing partitions/filesystems. I kept it simple, having only 2 partitions /root and /swap (Linux must have atleast these two, and others are optional. If you select this, the other directories like /bin, /var, /etc will get created under /root filesystem).

Some applications dont work on linux, but mostly all have linux versions.
    Example msn messenger doesnt work on linux, but you have GAIM as an alternative.

yeah you can have like that, but you leave Windows on C drive as it's already there. Install linux on D or in any other partition. They don't clash, the bootloader or boot.ini file will be modified mentioning which OS resides on which partition. Everytime the system starts, you will me prompted to choose Linux or windows.