Newbie needs some help with electric bass complete setup

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by usurper1990, Apr 22, 2006.

1. usurper1990

usurper1990 New Member

Hey Guys,

Im a complete newb to the world of guitaring. When i saw newb i mean newb! i no absolutely nthn bout guitars! i was plannin on buyin an electric bass. a low or mid range one which i could learn on and keep as a back up when i move on smthn like tht! anyways i did soem research here in good ol b'lore and found most dealers sellin local produced givsons! nearly all my frens hu play tell me not to buy a givson as it is a pure waste of cash! shit electronics and bad quality of sound! so i decided to buy an ibanez or a tansen or a gb&a. on enquiring at reynolds inc on m.g. road i found a ibanez gsr60 or smthn like that for 15,500 and a gb&a bass for the same! the people were so rude they put the reciever down before i could find out whihc model!

then i tried some other shop (dont remember the name) and found a ibanez gsr200 for 13,800 and a gb&a for 8,800 here the salesman did not know which model the gb&a was.

then at premson musicals , i found a ibanez bass jumpstart kit (the one with a gsr190j) for 17,800. comes with a 10w practise amp and all the other things!

i tried finding out bout tansen basses but then their website is so pathetically hopeless!! seriously! the pics there dont even load!!!

anyways i wish to purchase a bass distortion pedal along with this. smthn cheap like a Zoom 505II or a Zoom 506II they r like 4500 or smthn!

should i buy an amp? will i need one? if i dont buy one, ill plug my creative 2.1 speakers into the distortion pedal. will that damge my speakers?

and i read that the gsr200 has shit quality pickups and strings otherwise its pretty decent!

hmmm i thnk my budget is around umm 20 - 22 gran! plz suggest some other basses if u think the ones mention above are not worth their cost. plz suggest a good effects/expression pedal if the Zooms are not good.