Newbie from Bangalore!- Need help!!!

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by gaurav, Jan 20, 2014.

1. gaurav

gaurav New Member

Hi people,

Posting my first thread here! Let me brief you all about my wish., to learn guitar.
    I was brought up in a small town where we don't have any guitar classes and/or anyone who plays guitar. I always wanted to play a guitar but thought i will do it when i have the resources. Moved to Chennai for my engineering. Well, all my guitar dreams were crushed under those heavy not-so-useful books and four years passed without me even holding a guitar. So finally i am here, working in bangalore and i guess its now or never. I want to start learning and stop giving excuses. So please help me out guys. Have some questions..
    1. How do i start? I have no knowledge whatsoever! should i learn some theory first?
    2. Which guitar should i buy and where?
    3. and how should i proceed with learning? Videos? Personnel Classes? books? ( My pockets aren't heavy and i have a education loan on me)

Awaiting reply. Thanks a lot!!

P.S- I am not looking to make guitar my career nor i wish to play in any band. I just want to learn guitar so that i can play it when i am alone or with my friends.. May be write a song or two for my love ;) and am interested in acoustic for now..

2. Super-Admin

Super-Admin Administrator Staff Member

Hi Gaurav,

Welcome on board.

One of the easiest ways to get started is by searching for videos on YouTube. You'll get all that you need for basics there.

Once you have some basics mastered, you can start learning chords / tabs of your favorite songs.

Taking a few classes will accelerate your process of learning.

Lot of beginner guitars available in the market. If you are from Bangalore, there are a few stores in Brigade road where you can buy guitars from.

You can order one online too...

Best Regards

3. gaurav

gaurav New Member