Need help Self tutoring ATTN:Self taught guitarists

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by r@zor2, Apr 11, 2008.

1. r@zor2

r@zor2 New Member

hey guys got my guitar its a black pluto 101N
    Good acoustic for 2750 and the main thing i wanted to know is - is it possible to learn everything from the internet i mean by self tutoring cause i really dont want to go to classes. I got my guitar around 2 weeks back and i have been really working hard and in these 2 weeks i learnt - open Chords (A minor& major C, D etc etc) 4/4 strumming, different strumming patterns , Scales like major &minor pentatonic , major scale , Blues scale ( I can play these around 160BPM is it good enough??) , alternative picking , Soloing (though it sucks on an acoustic) , and im trying barre chords now , I can also switch between chords (open position) quite efficiently
    IMP: im not boasting here i posted this to ask about my progress is it good enough for a beginner who started 15days back
    Somehow the pain in the fingers(when u start to play guitars) vanished in 2 days is this normal??? Now i have developed sort of thick dry skin round the place on the finger where i hold notes on the fretboard Is this the callus???
    And i really cant believe it BUt i can somehow play the intro to Stairway to heaven (led zepplin) I thought it was advanced level stuff ??
    u guys have any other melodic stuff like stairway to heaven ??? Any song from Eric clapton???
    I practice for 6 hours a day and im trying harder and harder to become as good as possible and im really enjoying every bit of playing it.
    PS:- AGAIN IM NOT BOASTING HERE AND AM TRYING TO KEEP IT AS MODEST AS HUMANLY POSSIBLE just asking bout my progress and what i should learn next
    Please advice what i should learn next
    thank you awaiting reply and sorry for the huge post just trying to share my questions and feelings

Cheers,
    Anirudh

2. flashmustain

flashmustain New Member