Need help in complex Chords..

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by selvapunithan, Mar 6, 2012.

1. selvapunithan

selvapunithan New Member

Hi,
    I'm a beginner.. desperately learning guitar.. i've been practicing chords for the past 2 months.. Still i'm getting confused( sometimes threatened by) chords like G7, G#7, Dm6, Cm9, Ebm, Ebm7, in some songs Gm15 also there.. this screws me to the extreme.. Please help me to figure out this.. What are these chords and how can i find them in guitar.. which is the easy way to understand them..

2. Sumanovo razor

Sumanovo razor New Member

first of all Gm15 is not possible you may say G13 that is G dominant 13 again Gmaj13 wont be possible coz of perfect fourth....

okay for all this you need to know about scales for example i take C scale ...the notes which are there in C major scale are CDEFGAB so for triad chord (chord contain 3 notes)you take the alternate first 3 notes of the major scale that will be CEG...which when played together becomes Cmajor chord .now if i add the 6th note from the scale to the triad chord tones (i.e CEGA)it will be Cmaj6th chord ...similarly if you want to play Cmaj7th add the 7th note to the triad chord ...same with 9th ...for dominant 7th add the flattened 7th note ...that is Bb...

for this you must know the scales thoroughly...first practise triad and power chords because they are easy to play...

3. Sumanovo razor

i guess you become confused when you see # and b ...

4. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!

Forget these complex chords.

For now just learn the major, minor, augmented, diminished.
    1. Learn their particular sound
    2. Learn why they are named so
    3. Learn why you have to contort your fingers to achieve the particular chord shape.

Once you learn the above, you should be in a position to learn the more complex ones ...

5. selvapunithan

selvapunithan New Member