Need help choosing a new keyboard

Discussion in 'Misc Musical Instruments' started by wylder, Jan 30, 2010.

1. wylder

wylder Member

Hi

I am a guitarist looking to get back in touch with my keyboard skills.

I intend on playing mostly blues and contemporary piano. I have played keys for just one show, and it was simple stuff like Coldplay - Fix You, Porcupine Tree - Blackest Eyes, Ozzy - Old LA Tonight.

With a budget of 30-40k, what is the best that I can get?
    I am looking for excellent piano and orchestral patches, good organ tones and useable synth tones.

Currently, the Yamaha MM6 is at the top of my list.
    Any PSR S550 / S700 users here?
    I had tried a couple of Roland boards in this range and was not very impressed. Any other suggestions?

2. justneedaguitar

justneedaguitar New Member

My suggestion go psr s550!!
    I have juno g!!
    was thinkin of psr 550 and s700 bt it was out of stock at many places!!!

3. wylder

wylder Member

Thanks man..

I tried the s700, tones were nice and features are cool but the price is a bit on the higher side. I might not need the styles either (which I think is the major difference between the S series and MM6.Am I right?).

Any experience with Korg boards? Is the TR61 worth the extra money?

From what I could understand, mm6 has neat tones..
    Check out this video I came across on youtube..
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4VUKzWjDkvc

4. Keoraf

Keoraf Keyboard Player

I own a Korg N364 synthesizer, it isn't a keyboard. I'm a happy user of this synth for years now.
    In the first place, you should go for the board you think the sound are sounding great, because thats the quality of keyboards/ synths. I can't tell you what sound is great because that is just depending on the listener, what i think is sounding well, is not necessarily that you should like it aswel!