My progress chart

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by guitarrishu, Jul 30, 2008.

1. guitarrishu

guitarrishu New Member

I'm a newbie. I got my acoustic guitar 15 days back. I've never played any instrument but I've good sense of
    music. With guitar, I got DVD, tuner, extra strings as well. For first 4 days, i followed DVD and learnt basic things.
    On Sunday, I took private lesson. The teacher did not teach me any basics like proper hand, finger, seating positions
    etc. He put a sheet showing three chords and asked me to follow that so that we can learn a song. I was disappointed
    after the class and decided not to go again. I found 2 VCD tutorials and start following them. It is quite helpful.
    Day 7, I was very disappointed. I was not able to shift between chords and sometimes chords not were sounding correct.
    Then I found IGT. In the beginners section, I found very encouraging suggestions. The most important thing I learnt
    is "PRACTICE". I now do spider technique to adjust my fingers and coordination between them. Currently, I'm using
    only first 4 frets. Today is day 15th and now I'm play few chords together. I'm gaining speed day by day :).
    My daily schedule is:
    1) Do some finger exercises, like spiders (which i found on IGT).
    2) Play all chords I know one by one.
    3) Play one or two one chord songs e.g. Row Row row your boat, b) Are you sleeping brother john. You can find videos on
    youtube. This helps me a lot. Both the song use E major chord.
    4) I'm learning a two chord song. I'll keep it playing until i start switching between chords comfortably.

I practice one hour daily religiously. My aim is to to start switching between few chords within next 4 months
    and hopefully play few songs. I believe in hard work and patience, hence I am sure, I'll be able to play good
    guitar in next few years.