Most of u have faced this i think - so Plz HELP

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by cool.abhi79, Apr 12, 2009.

1. cool.abhi79

cool.abhi79 New Member

Hi,

I started learning guitar about 3 months back with the help of my comp ( no teacher ). Used acoustic for a month than got my first electric. Slowly i am getting hooked to the axe.

Started with not so regular practice of about 30 min a day (skipped days at times but read a lot of theory guess the acoustic i borrowed frm my frnd sucked :) )

Then after i got my electric started practicing about an hour a day and in the last 4-5 days it has gone upto 4-5 hours a day. (All this background info to get a good advice )

Today i felt some pain at the thumb joint with the palm after practicing for about 2 hours on a stretch.

Though i stopped playing at that time my question is should i wait for 2-3 days so that the pain is gone and then play or continue as this may be the thumb muscles getting used to pushing fretboard for longer periods.

If its the second case i guess continuing playing will help as my hands will get used to longer duration of practicing .

Thanks for neone who reads and tries to help.

Reg

2. ddaggi

ddaggi New Member

hey

my advice to you would be that even if you play for 2 hrs instead of 4 - 5 hrs a day its ok.....but dont do it like practicing for 5 hrs a day then not touching the guitar for a few days...cos that can create problems.....be regular.....n also practice more on acoustic guitar initially.......if the pain persists for more than a month...n its like unbearable...then you should consult a doc.....hope it helped..

n the answer to your ques is......

yes...you should continue playing but as i said be regular....n dont follow the NO PAIN NO GAIN concept....

3. cool.abhi79

cool.abhi79 New Member

thanks dude

though in my own mind i was kinda ready to continue till it becomes impossible just needed some nice words to get out of that uneasy feeling ( beginner syndrome )