Mahaganapathim - Carnatic guitar tab

Discussion in 'Carnatic Music of South India' started by ananth222, Mar 2, 2005.

1. ananth222

ananth222 Beginner

Mahaganapathim
    ==============

Composer: Muthuswamy Dikshidhar
    Raagam: Naattai (chalanaatta janya)
    Taalam: Adi

Mahaganapathim is a quite famous krithi composed by Muthuswamy Dikshidhar. I will try to present it here
    in tab format, as an introduction to playing carnatic music on the guitar.
    I am a beginner myself in playing carnatic music, so this will be a simplified version.

First the raagam, Naattai.
    Ascent (aarohanam): S R3 G3 M1 P N3 S (C D# E F G B C)
    Descent (avarohanam): S N3 P M1 G3 M1 R3 S
    Tab:
    Code:
    E------------------------------------------------
    B------------------------------------------------
    G------------4-5---5-4---------------------------
    D----1-2-3-5-----------5-3-2-3-------------------
    A--3---------------------------3/6\5/6-3---------
    E------------------------------------------------

Notice that for Re in the descent, there is a complicated little knot instead of first fret on D string as in ascent.
    This is the way Re is often played in this raaga (as u will see in when we get into the song)
    To explain, strike the A string on 3rd fret, and without striking again, slide to 6, back to 5, and to 6 again in one motion.

Now lets go to the song. Carnatic krithis are composed of various sections.
    The first few lines of a krithi are called the "pallavi". The pallavi for this song is:

Mahaa ganapathim manasaa smaraami
    Mahaa ganapathim vasishta vaama devadi vandhita

(Meaning: I meditate on the supreme lord Ganapathi, who is worshipped by sages like Vasishta, Vamadeva etc.)

This is followed by the "charanam" (some krithis have more lines called "anupallavai")
    The charanam for this song is:

Mahaa devasutham guruguhanutham
    Maarakoti prakaasham shaantham
    Mahaakavya naatakathipriyam mooshikavaahana modhakapriyam