Looking for an all-round electric

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by jetru, Jun 14, 2006.

1. jetru

jetru New Member

I live in Bangalore and I'll be buying an electric guitar soon. I want a guitar that'll play both rock and metal(rock - a bit more than metal). Guitar+Amp should cost < Rs.15K. So that means guitar should be around Rs.10000-12000.

Please note that I'm a beginner to electric. But I've been playing an acoustic(borrowed :D) for a couple of months and I'm not very good:(.

What exactly am I looking for here? Fenders play rock but they suck with distortion(so I hear). Ibanez are the other way around. What about GB&A? Never heard of it anywhere but on these boards. I don't care about the whammy bar, and since it gives tuning problems(especially with these low price stuff) I'd prefer if it wasn't there.

All suggestions welcome.

2. ThePacifist

ThePacifist New Member

Very few guitars handle both distortion and clean tones very well. I played a PRS once and that was a thing of beauty, but well outside the range you specified. You will have to decide first what kind of music are you interested in.

If you are a beginner on electric, I have seen plenty of suggestions to go for Ibanez. In fact, I have to buy a guitar myself, and would be looking into this thread often....lets see what comes up

UPDATE: You will also find the pricelists for guitars on the gear talk forum.

3. alpha1

alpha1 I BLUES!

Array where do you find all these guidelines written?

4. nebuchadnezzar

nebuchadnezzar G34r G33k

Thats bullsh!t..anyways for 10K you arent getting any REAL Fender or Ibanez, just their low level offerings...
    And Bangalore is, sadly, NOT a good place to buy guitars..in your range of 10-12K, you'll get Squier Affinities, Ibanez GRGs, Samick and GB&a(and maybe a few J&D brothers) here...all Strat type guitars with a few variations in design.