Kahler v/s floyd rose

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by distorted, Aug 10, 2009.

1. distorted

distorted satan

Discuss n pour in yr ideas... Wt ever u know abt these tremelos... Yr experiences... Drawbacks n advantages of each...

2. distorted

distorted satan

N cost of various models... Their availibility...

3. ultrabot90

ultrabot90 Like fishes need bicycles

What be the point of specifically looking for a Kahler? Few guitars have them on...and Floyd is the unanimous king of the whammys...Just get a high end (say, Rs 40k+) guitar, and you'll be assured of a good quality thing.

This is all theoretical knowledge though...I'm no whammy expert.

4. Harsh Kumar

Harsh Kumar The Official IGT Jester

what exactly you wanna know??
    but still doing justice to the topic,

Kahler uses roller bridge, so your string can glide with almost no friction, henceforth returning to pitch everytime .

Floyd uses knive edges that give exact relief to your strings when bent and return ot pitch.

Knives being more accurate and the Floyd design is just a mod over the fender baseplate Floyd is more popular. The floyd rose manufactured by Schaller is considered one of the best and are made in Germany.

Dont buy cheap FR's, they will wear out UNLESS u maintain them, which Indians rarely do and complain that their FR is cheap and a pain in the ass.

FR requires to go through maintenance every 2 months or something.

It's not good for a first guitar when you cannot even setup a fender strat, but it's a great thing to learn for every guitarist.

Ppl with knowledge of general physics should not find it difficult!

---------
    What exactly you wanna know??

5. ultrabot90

Hey Harsh
    A couple trem questions if you'd please...
    1. https://www.theorylessons.com/stringing1.html
    D'you feel that's true?