Im confused

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by Pushkar2246, Dec 24, 2005.

1. Pushkar2246

Pushkar2246 New Member

hi everyone... Im an amateur guitar player.i started playing guitar five months back.I used to browse through the sites..search for tabs..n play..this way my finger movement improved...but i NEVER went through the basic theory.I dont have a teacher and i rely heavily on tabs on the net.i wanted to ask you if its the right way of learning. i have a friend who has done the same thing.please guide us. :help:

2. sayanakaharry

sayanakaharry Forum Leader

if you want to learn how to play passable rhythm and want to stick to playing from tabs in the future, then it is just about sufficient. if you want to improve and be a good player someday, at some point of time or the other you simply HAVE to learn theory.

3. UjSen

UjSen *#!EVIL*!!

Thats what I do.learn from the net.
    but u can't learn wholly from the net.
    and besides there is no substitute for a real teacher.
    u can learn for sometime more like this then get a teacher.
    i've been learning from the net over the past 2 years.
    now i've decided to learn from a teacher.

4. Pushkar2246

Pushkar2246 New Member

thanx for ur advice..luking for some more views from the greats here

5. .:SpY_GaMe:.

.:SpY_GaMe:. New Member

one advice

lsiten listen listen listen to music n to what they members play

n try to play the tabs n chords urself n c .......

6. sayanakaharry

now i disagree on this point. i said that at some point of time uhave to learn BASIC THEORY and stuff like that. i believe personal teaching is good, but not an essential for learning. there are many self-taught guitarists. the internet is a great place.

7. Luthier

Luthier New Member

hey pushkar
    I suggest that u learn all the basic theory and notation reading and only then will u be able to respect the guitar and it's music and the whole world of music and sound itself.