I'm a beginner - Suggest me some tunes to Practice !

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by rameshiit19, Feb 7, 2012.

1. rameshiit19

rameshiit19 New Member

Hi,
    I am a beginner & just started practising with Chromatic Scale & E - Phrigian Scale . What are the things I should follow while practising it ?

Also suggest some basic sounds which I can compose with these ... I am very eager to compose some tune from these !!

Thanks ,
    Ramesh Jothimani

2. Howlingwolf8

Howlingwolf8 New Member

Twinkle twinkle,happy birthday, jingle bells. Those were the first tunes i learnt. Then if you have sum notes practice the scales. You can move on to songs. These are availabe on internet or igt(most on igt):

dum maro dum.
    Oh oh jane jana
    thujhe dekha
    that sng from roja dats lyk choti si smitha

mario super bros(learn it 4m a youtube vid with a channel named'fuzzymonkey777')
    mission imposible
    give me sum sunshine.

Here are sum smal bits you can try urself.

Gud bad and the ugly theme
    mision imposible
    cars 2 theme
    indiana jones theme
    mario start music

p.s: i don remember the channel name exactly.try using a single 7 or if it doesnt work use double 7

3. wylder

wylder Member

Beginner and you start out with Modal Theory? What is this world coming to!!!

Anyways, E-Phrygian is awesome for flamenco style tunes. If you use a few accidentals you can infuse the Gypsy scale too into it. You can jam on this scale with the typical E-F-G-F chord progression. To add to the gypsy effect, I like to use open high E and B strings and use a rasgueado type strumming. Easy songs in particular you could try would be Korn's unplugged version of Blind.

Chromatic scale is something that I think is very atonal and sounds cool only if you use it in bits or use it at very high speeds. An example would be Flight of the Bumblebee by Rimsky-Korsakov.

4. mymusicmyguitar

mymusicmyguitar Active Member

Join some good guitar class.......

5. rameshiit19