I am bent on beginning with electric!! Some questions.

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by dragonball, Dec 27, 2007.

1. dragonball

dragonball New Member

Hi all,

I am a total beginner(just played a simple 10sec background tune of IronMaiden-FOD once & thats how my craze started). I want to learn guitar(off the net preferably).

1)Is it OK if i buy an electric guitar directly, reason being I just hate holding acoustic guitars? I never want to play acoustic, if playing an electric directly is possible.

2)Can chords, etc be learnt directly from electric, w/o going thru acoustic? I m very passionate abt these and have watched many videos abt. tapping, string skipping, etc etc.

3)If all above answers are yes, suggest me a guitar + amp in ~Rs.15K range(delhi/noida). My music preference - Only Rock, somewhat metal, not hardcore metal, but more like melodic/symphony/neo-classical metal.. EG. AlterBridge, Steve Vai, FunTwo(youtube), etc.

2. sukrut

sukrut God Guitarist

look...

chords and lead on an acoustic are far more difficult then on an electric.....
    so.... if u first learn the acoustic then switch to an electric... it will be a piece of cake..........

if start directly on an electric then after sometime decide to switch to an acoustic its gonna be really hard........

its your choice.........
    if u wanna go with an electric its quite alright........

good luck!
    :beer:

3. d_ist_urb_ed

d_ist_urb_ed Genuflect b*tches!

If ronnieanand were still active here, he'd have given you an experiential answer. He started learning on an electric and well, he's a pretty damn good guitarist. It's about the kind of music you want to play and in some cases, your priorities and goals.

4. ReBoRn

ReBoRn New Member

hmm ..yeah *nostalgia*

5. AtoZ

AtoZ New Member

^... LOL...

Very true....

6. dragonball

dragonball New Member

you meant the opposite, right?

Also, i am NOT gonna make it my profession or something. Just a hobby, passion, etc. :)