How to tab a song

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by anuragiimk, Apr 22, 2005.

1. anuragiimk

anuragiimk New Member

Hi,

I am a beginner in Guitar. I am just curious to know, how can one tab/ play a given song. I have been getting this answer from some people that you have to "develop ears"... but HOW????

Lets say I want to tab kal ho na ho..title song.. so will I sleect a scale first
    1. Say I'll select scale of C
    2. Try to put that song in "Sa re ga" or "Do re.." form...

and then play it.. or..??

:eek::

2. FaWaD

FaWaD New Member

well i was looking for a solution to this as well.. as there is no use of cramming the tabs from this website.. i mean u do impress ppl in a short time but if u really wanna learn some music u dont get anywhere i guess.. i wanna learn to tab man..

i've been playing some scales lately plus i m also trying to train my ears.. i guess thats the only way..

guys if u hav any solution to this then pls reply here..

3. Quadrophenia

Quadrophenia Member

to tab a song u 'just' have to listen to the song a million times.

this is what ive been taught..has it worked..yes it has ..how?..simple.. u listen for bass notes of a chord.. if u know your theory well enough..u'll know that the thickest string E is the root of a chord..the root meaning the chords letter if u like A,B,C,C#,Bb etc..
    once u've got the root u have to figure out the kind of chord it is
    augmented,minor,major,7th,5th, or the more complicated ones.
    see what sounds best and u've nailed the first chord..once u know the first few chords u can work out what key the song is in..that way u can predict the next few chords coming your way!!!

goto www.wholenote.com and click on basics at the bottom of the page there is a ear training prog. it will help u disgtinguish between chords..