How to find the chord on the fret?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by samsiss, Dec 28, 2005.

1. samsiss

samsiss New Member

Hi friends,
    I am a newbie, was going through some music theories. I could understand the 1-3-5 formations of major chord from a scale. For example, C Major Scale:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    C D E F G A B

So C Major chord becomes 1-3-5, and hence CEG.

But how to find out which string should hold which of the notes(C/E/G). and does the order C-E-G matter? If I find C on a string, should the immediate below next string have the E and so on? (As I can see the chords, the order doesnt seem to be important, but please suggest how does it work out?)

Also if I strum downwards and upwards for the same chord, the sounds are surely different, does that matter?

Regards,
    Shyam

2. uj_6string

uj_6string Nickelodean Addict :D

all right....c major scale is as follows::

string:5 4 4 4 3 3 2 2
    fret: 3 0 2 3 0 2 0 1
    note: c d e f g a b c

when i say fret 0....i am trying to say that u have to play that string open.....without pressing any finger on any fret

this is the c major scale....u play what i have written and ull get ur sa-re-ga-ma-pa-dha-ni-sa sound.......
    now....
    take the 1st....2nd and 5th note from this scale to form a c major chord......
    that is.....3rd fret of the 5th string(the 1st note the scale...that is note c).......2nd fret of the 4th string(the 3rd note of the scale...that is note e)and play the 3rd string open(note g).....
    this is ur basic c major chord.....but!......to give it a more better sound....we add an extra note....1st fret of the 2nd string(that is note c)

when u strum downwards or upwards......the sound produced will surely be different.....but it is just a way of strumming it......so dont worry about that.....

vini likes this.
  3. samsiss

samsiss New Member

Thanks UJ for the reply.