Help with buying an electric guitar.

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by DinosaurHunter, Jun 1, 2010.

1. DinosaurHunter

DinosaurHunter New Member

Hello friends :)

I'm new to these forums -- what a great place you have all built!

I plan to buy an electric guitar, a practice amp, and a multi-effects processor. I would like your advice as to what I should get for my budget.

Background
    I've been playing guitar for a little over three years; it's a hobby of mine, I'm by no means an expert. I used to be in a garage band, and we played live a few times. Now I'm no longer a part of the band (everybody moved to different places). I used to own an Epiphone Les Paul in the past, but I gave that guitar to a friend when I moved a year ago. I got married, and since then haven't touched a guitar! I've now decided it's time for me to get a new axe and start rocking once again. This time, I'll be playing for myself, in my house with my wife as the only member of the audience.

Music
    I always get confused by music genres. I'll list my favorite bands whose sound I would like to emulate: Pink Floyd, Dire Straits, Red Hot Chili Peppers. I believe I would say I'm into soft, classical rock. And of course I would also like to rock some bollywood tunes for my wife. :) I was the rhythm guitarist in my band, but now that I'm all by myself, I would like to get into some soloing as well.

Websites
    I live in the middle of nowhere. There are no guitar shops for hundreds of miles. The only option I have is to buy my gear online. Currently I'm looking at bajaao dot com (I can't post urls directly since I'm new). It seems to have a decent collection. Are there any other websites you would recommend? Googling hasn't helped me much; the only other website I could find was Raj Musicals, and it seems to have the same equipment as Bajaao.