Help This Newcomer!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by somendra_guitar, May 5, 2005.

1. somendra_guitar

somendra_guitar New Member

Hi every body,
    well the thing is that i'm a newbie & have a problem playing bar chords,
    i'm trying them 4 last at least a month.
    suddenly i thought of taking my IGT friends' help

I have a givson acoustic guitar,my guitar teacher who is next to useless,
    (but i have to go to him coz there's no other here)
    so he says that my guitar is a bit tough/hard whatever u say.
    can somebdy help me or suggest me an idea how to make my guitar softer?????

awaiting replies!!!!!

ur friend

2. aleric

aleric New Member

Hi Somendra,

Its actually good that your guitar is harder, your fingers will develop and when you shift to a proper guitar it would be really easy to play all those barre chords ;)

Anyways, to master the barre chords, first concentrate only on F and G and improve your index finger's strength.

Also the important thing while playing a barre chord can be the position of your thumb on the neck. Make sure that your thump in a position where rest of the fingers get enough space and you can stretch them.

Last but not the least, keep pratising. I played guitar almost for a year but was never able to play the barre chords. But after practising it for couple of weeks, I was able to manage most of the major/minor barre chords.

:rockon:

3. somendra_guitar

i'm a bit ok with the Gmaj (coz i'm praticing it 4 last 1 month)
    but the Fmaj
    & the others
    i can't explain
    for G also i'm not as perfect as in open G
    but i can practice every chord for 1 month

also tell me why barre chords are necessary
    what makes them better than open ones
    & what if i ignore them & practice only open style of each chord

4. ronnieanand

ronnieanand n00bier th@n th0u

Hi Soumendra,