Help on chords

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by thumbikkai, Nov 13, 2003.

1. thumbikkai

thumbikkai New Member

Guys

I am a beginner to playing guitar. Its been couple of months that I have been working on the chords . I would like to practice some songs based on simple chords. I went through the forum I did find a few but I am not sure what sort of time gap is required between 2 chords and the number of strums (up or down etc).

If its possible could you guys help me with a simple song with chords & an explanation of how many strums(up/down) .

Thanks in advance

2. lord_neo

lord_neo Guest

Practise makes perfect: This is something you will have to figure out yourself. The best way to do so is to develop your ear by listening to basic strumming again and again and again.

This has happened to all of us including me....i couldnt figure out what the timming was supposed to be or how to strum the guitar for a paticular song...after months of practise i got the hang of it. So shall you, in time. :beer:

Theard moved to appropriate forum...

ADMIN

3. esgallindeion

esgallindeion Minstrel Knight

Most people make the mistake of wanting to play songs from such an early phase (me included).

Ideally, you should first perfect your ear for the sound of chords and that can only be done by practising daily. And being able to play bar chords will be a bonus for you as well. Most ppl after abt 2 months usually play open chords. And imo, bar chords always have a definite edge over open chords.

4. alli

alli The Best Ever

damn..i made the same mistake too.... so im not alone ...

learning to play songs be4 ur sure bout chords and good with them..is da worst mistake...

esgalli.... and neo r bang on right bout the whole deal.

merci.

5. rsumit

rsumit New Member

I was also making the same mistake :shock: