HELP NEEDED: complete electric setup!

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by v0id, Jan 26, 2006.

1. v0id

v0id New Member

Hey folks,

I'm going in for a complete electric set-up and I need some help. I've read most of the posts here on the gear forum still I'm not clear about certain points. Please help me out.

Here are the relevant details:

I've been playing the acoustic guitar for the past *8 months*. I am committed to it.

I would like to play Metallica, Iron Maiden, SOAD, GnR, Nirvana etc. I'd like an allrounder kinda guitar :d (I don't think that exists..)

My budget for the
    guitar is $400;
    processor is $300;
    amplifier is $200.

I can manage to get the gear from abroad(except the amp.)

*I cannot absolutely exceed the above quoted budget*

My questions:
    1) Which is better: Individual Pedals or Pedal Processor? I understand that most of you guys recommend Individual pedals because of their superior sound. But, considering that I am a complete newbie to electric guitar(and probably not trying to achieve *that* particular sound right now anyway) .. what would you recommend?

2) If I do go for a Pedal processor, I have to choose out of Digitech GNX 3, Zoom G7.1ut and Korg AX3000G.(GT-6,8, GNX4 etc. are out coz of the prices) Which is the best out of the three? I've read from reviews etc. that GNX sucks at usability(but that's ok with me.. I'm a complete believer in RTFM) and Zoom G7.1ut has a pathetic wah. Any other suggestions? Is the Boss GT6 worth it to put in an extra $100(it's priced at $400 at MusiciansFriend.com) or GNX 3 is better than it? LEFTY_GUITARIST, any ideas how is AX3000G compared to GNX 3?