Help choosing new guitar (and amp)

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by bbkingme, Nov 29, 2010.

1. bbkingme

bbkingme New Member

I've been playing guitar for 4 years now.

i have developed a liking for blues and have been playing acoustic blues for a year now.
    i now want to shift to electric blues.

i have a budget upto 30k (for guitar + amp)

i was thinking of greg bennett av3.

from what advises i have been getting, a good tube amp is a must, but i hear they get pretty epensive.. i dont know much about amps.

please suggest on what gear i should go for, i'm really confused.
    help will be appreciated.

2. ultrabot90

ultrabot90 Like fishes need bicycles

Just in case, have a read through of this and tell us if you got to know anything new ;) The Guide

Tube amp? Laney Cub, Vox AC4, and BE3s are there (as always) for your price.

Btw good job on saving that 30k and thank you for not coming and saying "pls i wnt elctrc gitar n amp 4 tht sweet Slash tone in rs 6k"

3. bbkingme

bbkingme New Member

thanks..

actually i was looking for some more specific suggestions..

i want to get a good bluesy tune. and thats where i need some help.
    i'm not a noob who is just looking for a "clapton-like" tone.
    just a decent blues set-up is what i'm looking for.

i'm confused between whether to invest more in a guitar or an amp.
    money is not that easy to come by for me, and i've been saving for a long time now.
    so i dont wanna end up regretting what i spend it on.
    i'd want atleast one of the two (guitar or amp) to last me the next 4-5 years.

i know that UG says that i should not spend more on a guitar than the amp.
    but really i dont know if a stupid 8-10k ibanez would give me that satisfactory blues tone.
    thats why i was thinking of a greg bennett..

would a modelling amp.. say like the roland cube or microcube for that matter be good enough??