Hello folks!

Discussion in 'Carnatic Music of South India' started by De-Silva, Apr 22, 2005.

1. De-Silva

De-Silva New Member

I am interested in learning the guitar and have recently purchased an Ibanez cutaway steel string accoustic. I can play a few notes and a few chords but that's where it ends.

I have been following the threads out here for a while and see quite a few knowledgeable guys and gals in the sphere of Carnatic Classical music.

I am inclined towards learning how to play carnatic music on the guitar and have been listening to carnatic music all my life. I must confess I have no formal knowledge and education and cannot identify / differentiate between ragas!

The question I have for the learned people out here is - how do I get started on the path of gaining this knowledge? I know that it's going to take a lifetime to do it (!) and am quite interested in pursuing it.

Please suggest any books /reference material / online references that I can use to get started. Many thanks for your help in advance!

2. De-Silva

De-Silva New Member

Hi again!

Hi All,

Reading the Carnatic posts / threads out here, I do realize that the best way is to learn from a teacher. I live in Raleigh, NC, US and I dont believe there's anybody teaching Carnatic classical music, specially for the guitar.

My hope is to learn from the basics up and not just know how to play a few songs by heart....hence the request.

Looks like fridays are slow on these boards....will come back Monday!

Cheers! and Thanks again!

3. ananth222

ananth222 Beginner

Welcome to the forum DeSilva!
    The ebst way to learn carnatic (or any music) is through a teacher.
    For carnatic it is more so, because of the intricacies that are hard to document. I suggest you take vocal classes. That will surely help you learn guitar, and most of all, improve your understanding of the music.