having little difficulty playing the D chord

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by Radius_Vector, May 12, 2005.

1. Radius_Vector

Radius_Vector New Member

Hi all

Im new to this place.

First of all, Id like to congratulate the people behind this place, for this preserves the value of Indian music while moving to western instruments. Great job guys :rockon:

Im also relatively new to the guitar, and I have a Gibson Les Paul.

Im having little difficulty playing the D chord, the sixth string(highest one) seems to make a "tunk" noise instead of a nice loud harmonic :p:

Please helpl me out.

2. bob-bobby

bob-bobby Extinct or Banned!

welcome dude , hope you have a nice time at IGT !!!

thread moved to beginers q & a ...

3. cYpHeR

cYpHeR Banned

welcome dude....cant advice u like a pro coz im a newbie too......but try tuning it again....u might need an electrnic tuner.....try to see tht ur string is not touchin ur fret board when ur not holding it...if tht is the case try to raise ur the bridge.....

i guess exprienced guys can advice u better on this.....

4. Radius_Vector

Radius_Vector New Member

Yeah the guitar is tuned well, i have an electric tuner, its just my fingering Im finding it tough to cram all those fingers onto that small area playing the D.

5. Addy Pant

Addy Pant Highway Star

Nice guitar for a beginner!! After 8 months I'm still with my Givson Blue Diamond.

6. Radius_Vector

Radius_Vector New Member

Hi Addy,
    I heard from my friends that Givson is awesome, despite the way some people go cynical about it.
    I myself have tried playing my friend's Givson, and only the higher notes seem to make a jarring noise (which can be removed if played in a particular way), otherwise it sounds almost the same as the Gibson.

Im going to buy a Givson Jumbo soon, for I dont want to take the Gibson to college everyday lol.

Cheers

7. ronnieanand

ronnieanand n00bier th@n th0u

Hi Radius,