Guitars and ***ism

Discussion in 'The ChitChat Lounge' started by Petunia, Mar 30, 2008.

1. Petunia

Petunia terminally dorky

So one of our fellow IGT member (eightytwo), commented on the fact that he had never physically met a female guitarist.. and that actually shocked me.

But that hit closer to home, being a female and a guitarist.. (although not as professional as most of you here) I am quite popular in my groups, and it amazed me to see that distinction being made.

Maybe its because I live in a "equality" raving community.. or perhaps here no one really cares as to who does what, but what is the case in India?

Is being able to play the guitar (in this case) a sexist thing? Is it a guy thing?

A female newbie here, cant remember who, had commented in one of the threads and said that she had never been encouraged to play the guitar and her friends actually ridiculed her.

Why would you think that is so? Why has society made it so difficult for females to pursue such dreams? And why is it considered so impossible for females.. if anything I would think we're as good as some of you.

But that calls for competition..and no need for machoism..im merely trying to figure out why playing the guitar has brought forth such sexist views?

Comments?

2. eightytwo

eightytwo New Member

1>I did express dissapointment towards the fact that I didn't.